I Linguistic walls in Brussels schools?

 

Schools divided by language in Brussels

Visited schools

A. In November 2014, Europe celebrated the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. The existence of this wall arbitrarily separa- ting human beings does not make any sense today, and especially difficult to imagine in a country like Belgium, the capital of the European Union. As Marcello Di Cintio wrote: "By reducing the prospects for dialogue, walls in society create two sides and force us to choose one of them".

B. And yet, today, a wall more than two kilome- ters long does exist in the middle of Brussels. The playgrounds, dining halls and corridors of more than 90 schools are physically separated by barriers or red lines into a section reserved for children being taught in French and a section reserved for children being taught in Dutch.

C. What exactly are we referring to? What are these walls in practice?

1/10

Of adults aged under 45 who went to school in Brus- sels, nearly one in ten faced these walls between communities

30.000

Each day, around 30,000 children are confronted with these physical barriers in 90 schools across Brussels.

100%

These walls between the communities prevent all these children from experiencing fully the linguistic diversity of Brussels,which would be considered anywhere else in the world to be one of our capital's strengths.

2 km

The Brussels-Capital region is littered with walls that, if placed end-to-end, would form a wall / barri- er nearly two kilometers long, the distance as the crow flies from the Manneken Pis to the Cinquantenaire park.

I Des murs linguistiques dans les écoles à Bruxelles?

 

Ecoles divisées selon la langue à Bruxelles

Ecoles visitées

A. En novembre 2014, l’Europe a célébré le 25ème anniversaire de la chute du mur de Berlin. L’existence de ce mur séparant arbitrairement des êtres humains nous semble aujourd’hui ridicule et surtout difficilement imaginable dans un pays comme la Belgique. Comme l’écrivait, Marcello Di Cintio : « En diminuant les perspectives de dialogue, les murs dans une société créent deux côtés et exigent que vous en choisissiez un »

B. Pourtant, aujourd’hui, un mur de plus de deux kilomètres existe en plein Bruxelles. En effet, les cours de récréation, les réfectoires et les couloirs de plus de 90 écoles sont séparés physiquement par des barrières ou par des lignes rouges en une partie réservée aux enfants de l’enseignement francophone et une partie réservée aux élèves de l’enseignement néerlandophone.

C. A quoi fait-on exactement référence? Qu’est-ce que ces murs représentent concrètement?

1/10

Près d’un adulte de moins de 45 ans sur dix ayant suivi une scolarité à Bruxelles a été confronté à ces murs communautaires.

30.000

Environ 30,000 enfants sont quotidiennement confrontés à ces barrières physiques recouvrant 90 écoles à travers Bruxelles.

100%

Ces murs communautaires empêchent l’ensemble de ces enfants de vivre pleinement la diversité linguistique à Bruxelles, ce qui serait pourtant considéré partout dans le monde comme une force notre capitale.

2 km

La région de Bruxelles-Capitale est parsemée de murs qui, lorsqu’ils sont mis bout-à-bout, forment une muraille de près de deux kilomètres de long, soit la distance à vol d’oiseau entre le Manneke Pis et le cinquantenaire.